Rhoda Kaellis Residence
New Westminster, British Columbia

Rhoda Kaellis Residence is a supportive and transitional housing development recently built on Royal Avenue in New Westminster. The residence has 24 apartments for those with a history of homelessness, mental health issues and substance abuse. Residents of the 11 transitional apartments receive housing with support services for up to two years while the other 13 are affordable units that provide permanent independent housing

Drop off Locations:
  • Rhoda Kaellis Residence, 1105 Royal Ave , Wrapping instructions: Please include the name, ID# (Assigned ID), a description of the gift, the size of the gift, and name of the shelter. Dropoff Details: Please drop off at 1105 Royal Avenue, New Westminster with the following: -gift labeled with first name and last initial -what the item is on the back of the gift tag -separate any personal letters or notes. Shelter address: Rhoda Kaellis Residence - New Westminster, 1105 Royal Avenue, New Westminster. Phone: 604-544-5145





Pledged Gifts

27 of 27

Greg has lived in Vancouver for all of his life except when he lived in Edmonton for 5 years because of work. He has been living at the Rhoda Kaellis Residence for about 5 years now. He was a truck driver until he had an accident resulting in a head injury about 10 years ago. Greg's biggest challenge these days are the meds that he has to take for pain, he doesn't cope well with them at times. He really enjoys playing the game Rummy with his friends at the residence.

Wish List
  • Blanket

Lori (55 Years Old) has lived in the Vancouver area for a number of years and has done work in the past as a file clerk, nurses aid, mailroom clerk and some phone soliciting. She suffers from Insomnia due to menopause and needs to rest a lot during the day. Linda explained that what motivates her the most is caffeine.

Wish List
  • Gift card to Walmart

Ali (48 Years Old) has lived in Vancouver for over 20 years now and has done many jobs including pharmacuetical manufacturing. His favourite hobby is creating African artwork which is painting on plates. Ali's biggest challenge comes from dealing with people. What most encourages Ali is doing his artwork.

Wish List
  • Winter Boots (Size 10.5 or 11)

Brian (29 Years Old) is originally from Ontario but his family moved to BC when he was 6 years old. Brian has also lived in Fort St. John and Maple Ridge. In the past he has worked in sales and most currently was working in a mineral sample processing plant. He was injured severly while working there and now suffers chronic back pain. His biggest challenge is trying to keep optimistic and moving forward. Brian is most encouraged when he finds contentment within himself.

Wish List
  • Gift Card to Save-On Foods

Michael (46 Years Old) is originally from Prince George but left when he was 3 years old and has lived in the Vancouver area since. He has been living at the Rhoda Kaellis Residence for about 2.5 years now. Michael is currently in a wheelchair because he sustained a blood clot in his leg that has caused severe nerve damage. In the past Michael enjoyed working as a Mudder and Taper in the construction industry. He has lost the use of his scooter because he was involved in a hit and run not long ago. What most motivated Michael was the ability to play soccer and other sports.

Wish List
  • New Scooter

  • Gift card for groceries

Dave is originally from Edmonton but has been living in the New West and Burnaby area for a number of years. He is an ex commercial fisherman who has fished all his life and once owned his own fishing vessel. He lost the business some years back due to an injury he sustained. Dave's biggest daily challenge is the pain that he feels everyday due to his injury. Some days are good but some days are really bad. Dave's ultimate goal is to get out on his own and to rent/buy a place to live.

Wish List
  • Gift Card to Army and Navy for clothes

  • Gift Card to Safeway

Brian (52 Years Old) is originally from North Van and has 8 other brothers and sisters. He currently has a great friendship with another resident in which he takes care of her diabetes treatments for her. Brian has been living at the Rhoda Kaelis since it opened 5 years ago and currently serves as the fire warden. Brian worked as a search and rescue employee before sustaining two brain injuries in accidents. Brian's biggest challenge is dealing with Arthritis pain that he suffers from. Brian explained that what brings him joy is when Greta (his diabetic friend) is happy, then he is happy.

Wish List
  • Black Jeans (Size 36 W x 33 L)

  • Gift Card to Walmart

Linda (48 Years Old) is originally from Vancouver but has also lived in Alberta. She was injured some years back and is not capable of working. Some of the work that she has done in the past includes, temp agency work, Labour Ready and cleaning. She has a dog named Jojo who was born on christmas day and she enjoys walking him. As for family, Linda has a Mom who is 88 years old whom she visits a lot and sadly she has a son that has been missing for 3.5 years. What brings Linda joy is walking her dog and spending time with others at the Rhoda Kaellis Residence.

Wish List
  • Pots and Pans

  • Gift Card to Walmart

Kathleen is from Montreal. She is 51 and has lived here for 17 years. She worked for several year with children suffering from physical and sexual abuse. She was told that she had a gift of creating a safe environment for the children to open up and receive support and healing. She has suffered from physical challenges and has is so very grateful for her companion Max.

Wish List
  • Squecky Tennis Ball & Beef jerky snacks (Dog Max)

  • Gift card

Paul is 43 and from Manitoba. He moved here with family in the 80's to escape his alcoholic father. he has worked in roofing and as a security guard. Family is his biggest support system and encouragement.

Wish List
  • Warm footwear Size 8

  • Shaving Kit

Penny is a native of New Westminster. She worked at Save On Foods for 10 years. She escaped and abusive relationship and moved into The Russel Shelter to seek help. She then in 2012 moved into the Rhoda where with support from the staff and counselling is now going back to school to become a mental health and addiction counsellor. Financial issues are her challenges as she can no longer be on social assistance and go to school. She will not give up on obtaining her dream and future.

Wish List
  • Safeway gift card

  • Mobilicity cell gift card

Taylor is 35 and has lived here since he was 13. He has challenges with obtaining food. He is grateful for the support he has at the Rhoda.

Wish List
  • Warm footwear Size 10

  • Socks

Bob has lived in the Vancouver area all his life including New West and Burnaby. Bob used to drive the a Zamboni ice cleaner for work. Bob explained that his biggest challenge is that he could use a little more to eat these days. What encourages Bob is having a roof over his head.

Wish List
  • socks

  • Quilt/Comforter

  • Gift Card to Save-On Foods

Greta was born in Vancouver but moved to Norway when she was 3 months old. She then moved back to BC when she was 3.5 years old and has lived here since. In the past she was a hair stylist, cashier, bakery house cleaner and also did volunteer work at Queen's Park Hospital and Vancouver General Hospital. Greta's biggest challenge these days has to do with focusing. She is also a type 1 diabetic and suffers from bipolar disorder. She would like to get back out into the community one day. Great explained that her partner is now deceased and she misses him a lot. Greta feels most encouraged when she does well and is recognized.

Wish List
  • Make up (Mascara, Blush, Eyeshadow, Nail Polish)

  • Gift Card to Walmart/London Drugs

  • Shampoo/Conditioner/Soaps

  • Face Moisturizer